## BYLAW # 2024 - 005

## Number of Councillors

## A BYLAW OF THE VILLAGE OF ANDREW, IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA, TO SPECIFY THE NUMBER OF COUNCILLORS ON THE MUNICIPAL COUNCIL AND TO PROVIDE FOR THE CHIEF ELECTED OFFICIAL TO BE ELECTED BY A VOTE OF THE ELECTORS

**WHEREAS**, the Municipal Government Act states that the Council of a Village consists of three (3) Councillors unless the Council passes a bylaw specifying a higher or lower odd number;

**WHEREAS**, the Council of the Village of Andrew, in the Province of Alberta, has the authority to increase or decrease the number of Councillors, as specified in the Municipal Government Act.

**WHEREAS,** the Municipal Government Act states that the chief elected official of a village is to be appointed by council from among the Councillors unless Council passes a bylaw providing that the official is to be elected by a vote of the electors of the municipality;

**NOW THEREFORE**, pursuant to the provisions of the Municipal Government Act, Revised Statutes of Alberta 2000, Chapter M-26, as amended, the Council of the Village of Andrew, in the Province of Alberta, duly assembled, **HEREBY ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:** 

1. The Municipal Council for the Village of Andrew shall consist of five (5) councillors; which is made up of four (4) Council members and one (1) Chief Elected Office (Mayor).

2. The Chief Elected Official (Mayor) is to be elected by a vote of electors of the Village of Andrew.

3. This Bylaw comes into force upon the date of the passing of the third and final reading thereof.

READ for a first time this 10<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2024.

READ for a second time this 23<sup>rd</sup> day of September, 2024.

READ for a third and final time and passed this 30<sup>th</sup> day of October, 2024.

Mayor Barry Goertz

Deputy Mayor Tammy Pickett

CAO, Kylie Rude